Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dunwoody College of Technology Archives: Home

A guide for using the Dunwoody College of Technology Archives.

Welcome

Historical Archives Collection

Housed in the Newkirk Learning Commons, the purpose of the Historical Archives Collection is to preserve for research the historically valuable materials which document the origins, development, activities and achievements of Dunwoody College since its inception in 1914. This collection consists of more than 6,000 items that are currently being categorized, identified, and readied for digitization. Materials in this collection include:

  • Early college photos, newspapers, documents
  • Significant college publications, such as course catalogs and alumni newsletters
  • Meeting minutes, other critical documents instrumental in guiding College policies
  • Strategic plans, annual reports, and other administrative materials
  • Books and papers critical to the Dunwoody College history
Mission Statement:

The mission of The Dunwoody College Archive is to preserve and maintain access to the recorded of tradition of excellence and integrity as Dunwoody College changes lives by building opportunities for graduates to have successful careers, to develop into leaders and entrepreneurs, and to engage in “the better performance of life’s duties” with an emphasis on innovation and inclusion.

Donation

Before new donations are accepted, the archivist should review them. In order to expedite the process please contact the archivist and fill out the OFFICE USE portion of the form found below before bringing items to the Newkirk Learning Commons.  

Use

Study Room Guidelines and Procedures for Archival Materials:
  1. Please reserve archival materials and a Study Room  at least 24 hours prior to use.
  2. Please handle archival materials with gently with clean hands and return matierals to thier original container.
  3. No bags, jackets, food or drink, ink pens, or flash photography will be allowed in the Study Room.
  4. Secure storage spaces are available for personal items.
  5. Pencils and paper will be available and non-flash photography is allowed.
  6. Archival materials cannot leave the Study Room without Archivist’s permission.
  7. Archivist will review request for scanned copies of items on a case-by-case basis.
  8. Be considerate of others in regards to disruptive behaviors the walls are not soundproofed.
  9. Problems with the space or equipment should be reported to the Circulation Desk.
  10. Newkirk Learning Commons General Guidelines apply to study rooms.

Librarian/Archivist

Profile Photo
Jennifer Shaw-Spence
Contact:
612-381-3345